Hidden Treasures: Boardwalk on Bulverde

When I asked my husband to go with me to eat a taco truck, I got a resounding ‘no’. Even when I told him there was also a Moroccan food truck. And a barbecue truck. And a cupcake truck.

I finally got my chance to try the Boardwalk on Bulverde when a friend visited from out of town. An adventurous friend, who loved the idea.

Tucked away on the Northeast side is what looks a bit like a gypsy camp- half a dozen food trucks of various shapes and sizes encircle a picnic area with playground and strings of party lights. Some nights a portable projector shows a Spurs game or American Idol.

The trucks are powered by generators, which sometimes go out, shutting down a truck for a few minutes or, at night time, blacking out the eating space. Nevertheless it seems like a place where neighbors can meet- a real sense of community pops up and people share tables with strangers, Freetail Brewery  brings a free keg out nearly every Friday and Saturday and the staff at the trucks joke with you while they take your order. A friendly server hunts down a glass of ice for my dad then chats with him about moving to the US from Belgium.

The food isn’t half bad either- but I will leave that commentary to some much more eloquent foodies at Yelp, on various food blogs and in the newspaper.

Leave a comment